Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Deleting data from a device

Overview

This topic explains the various ways in which you can delete data from a user's device.

Note: You must have DLP license to enable DLP functionality for your users. Contact support@druva.com for the license.

Ways of deleting data from a user's device

There are certain scenarios in which you may want to remotely wipe off data from a user's device. For example, if a user loses a device, in order to protect the confidentiality of your organization's data, you might want to delete the device data. When you remotely wipe off data from a device, the following happens:

  • For user computers, data on the inSync Share and backup folders is securely wiped off.
  • For mobile devices, factory settings for the devices are applied.

There are two ways in which remotely wipe off can be triggered:

  • You manually trigger the process to decommission the device.
  • You enable auto-delete functionality for a device. This is applicable only for user computers. If the device does not connect to inSync server for a certain number of days, data will be wiped off from it.
Note: For all mobile devices, remote wipe off is possible only if the option has been appropriately configured in the profile and on the inSync app. To be able to remotely wipe off data from iOS devices, such as iPhone and iPad, you must also upload an SSL and an APN certificate on the inSync server. 

Securely wiping out data from a device

Decommissioning a device securely wipes out data from the backup and inSync share folders of users computer. For mobile devices, decommissioning a device provides you with two options:

  • Wiping off data from recent documents and favorites from the inSync companion app.
  • Securely wiping of data from the backup folders and uninstalling the app.

To decommission a device:

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device that you want to decommission.
  4. Click Decommission Device.
  5. (for mobile devices) Select the decommission activity that you want to perform and click Decommission:
    • Select Delete only inSync data on device if you just want to delete recent documents and favorites from the inSync companion app.
    • Select Deactivate entire device if you want to securely erase data from the backup folder and uninstall the app.

The decommissioning process for the device starts. Depending on the amount of data in the backup and inSync Share folders, the decommissioning process may take some time.

Enabling automatic deletion of data from a computer

Note: This feature can only be controlled through profiles. Any change to an existing profile is applicable for all users of that profile.

When enabled, data from the backup and inSync Share folders of a computer is automatically deleted if the device does not connect to the inSync server for a stipulated number of days. When enabling auto-delete feature, you can configure:

  • The number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, an alert will be sent to the inSync administrators informing that data from the device will soon be deleted.
  • The number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, data from the inSync Share and backup folders will be deleted.

 

To enable auto-delete functionality

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Click the DLP tab.
  4. Under DLP for Laptops, click Edit. The edit window appears.
  5. Select Auto delete. Additional fields are displayed.
    autodelete.png
  6. Enter the following details:
    • In the Auto delete folders if device does not connect for field, specify the number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, data from the inSync Share and backup folders will be deleted.
    • In the Alert if device does not connect for field, specify the number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, an alert will be sent to the inSync administrators.
  7. Click Save.

Managing auto-delete functionality

Putting auto-delete on hold for a device

There can be scenarios where a user's device does not connect to inSync server even if it is not stolen or lost. For example, an employee may be on vacation. In such cases you can put the auto-delete functionality on hold for that device.

To put auto-delete functionality on hold for a device

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device for which you want to put auto-delete functionality on hold.
  4. Click Mark On Hold.

Removing auto-delete on hold for a device

To remove auto-delete on hold for a device

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device from which you want to remove auto-delete on hold.
  4. Click Mark Normal.

Enabling remote data wipe off for mobile devices

To enable remote data wipe off for mobile devices

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Click the DLP tab.
  4. Under DLP for Mobiles, click Edit. The edit window appears.
    remotemobiledeactivation.png
  5. From the Remote device deactivation list select one of the following options:
    • Optional: When the user installs inSync Companion app, option to enable remote data wipe off will be provided. If the user agrees, remote data wipe off will be enabled.
    • Mandatory: When the user installs inSync Companion app, remote data wipe off will be enabled.
  6. Click Save.
  • Was this article helpful?