Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Managing guest users

About guest users

Guest users are external users who do not have inSync Share folder, but can collaborate with inSync Share users. They may or may not be members of your organization.

Guest users can log on to inSync Web and access files and folders that have been shared with them.

  • If guest users have view permission on the shared content, they can only download the files and folders shared with them.
  • If guest users have edit permission on the shared content, they can upload files, create folders, and delete files from the shared folder.

Guest users cannot:

  • Install inSync client and use it for data backup or share.
  • Sync shared folders with their devices.
  • Leave a shared folder.

Guest user licenses

With your inSync Share license, you receive a certain number of guest user licenses. You can view the number of guest user licenses allotted to you, and the number of guest user licenses consumed on the Share Summary area of inSync Admin Console Dashboard. Alternatively, you can check the License Summary under Settings to view the number of guest licenses allotted to you.

guestlicense.png

Guest user licenses are allotted to your organization and are shared by all your users. The licenses are consumed as and when your users share content with individuals who do not have inSync Share account. If you need more guest user licenses, send an email to support@druva.com.

Viewing the list of guest users

To view the list of guest users

  1. On the menu bar, click Share.
  2. Click the Guests tab.

The list of guest users added to inSync is displayed.

Downloading content shared with a guest user

To download the content shared with a guest user

  1. On the menu bar, click Share.
  2. Under the Guests tab, select the guest user whose content you want to download.
  3. Click View Share Content. The Manage Share Content window appears.
  4. Browse and select the file or folder that you want to download.

    share-guestcontent.png

  5. Click Download.

The selected content will be downloaded on your computer.

Resetting password of a guest user

To reset the password of a guest user

  1. On the menu bar, click Share.
  2. Under the Guests tab, select the guest user whose password you want to reset.
  3. Click Reset Password.

New password will be emailed to the guest user.

Deleting a guest user

To delete a guest user:

  1. On the menu bar, click Share.
  2. Under the Guests tab, select the guest you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

  • Was this article helpful?