Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Configuring auto-delete functionality for laptops

Enabling automatic delete of data from a laptop

As an administrator, you can enable automatic deletion of data from a laptop that has not connected to inSync Server for a specified number of days. This feature is controlled through profiles and not at an individual user level.

When you enable the auto-delete feature, you can configure:

  • The number of days after which alert will be sent to administrators if a laptop does not connect to inSync server. 
  • The number of days after which laptop data will be deleted if the laptop does not connect to inSync server. 

To enable auto-delete functionality

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Under the DLP tab, in the DLP for Laptops area, click Edit. The Edit Profile window appears.
  4. Select Auto delete. Additional fields are displayed.

    dlp-autodelete.png

  5. Enter the following details:
    • In the Auto delete folders if device does not connect for field, enter the number of days after which data on devices not connecting to inSync server will be deleted.
    • In the Alert if device does not connect for field, enter the number of days after which alerts will be sent to administrators if devices do not connect to inSync server.
  6. Click Save.

Putting auto-delete on hold for a device

There can be scenarios where a user's laptop does not connect to inSync server even if it is not stolen or lost. For example, an employee may be on vacation. In such cases you can put the auto-delete functionality on hold for that lap.

To put auto-delete functionality on hold for a device

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device for which you want to put auto-delete functionality on hold.
  4. Click Mark On Hold.

Removing auto-delete on hold for a device

To remove auto-delete on hold for a device

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device from which you want to remove auto-delete on hold.
  4. Click Mark Normal.

  • Was this article helpful?