Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Placing a user on Legal Hold

Understanding legal hold

inSync can help you preserve the data backed up from all devices of a user in case you need to put a user on legal hold. This feature is available as a part of inSync Analytics.

When you place a user on Legal Hold:

  • The user cannot be deleted.
  • The user's devices cannot be deleted.
  • Data backed up from the user's devices cannot be deleted from the storage.
  • The storage compaction process excludes the user's data and all snapshots are retained.
  • The user continues to backup and restore data, as usual.
Note:
  • Legal hold preserves backup data, not share data.
  • Make sure you remove users from legal hold before the expiry of your Analytics license, else the users will continue to remain on legal hold. 
  • Privacy settings supersede the legal hold settings. If you restricted administrators from accessing user data, the restriction will hold even when the user is placed under legal hold. 

Placing a user on legal hold

Only a system administrator can place a user on legal hold.

To place a user on legal hold

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user you want to place on legal hold. The user details page is displayed.
  3. Click More > Place On Legal Hold

The legal hold icon appears against the user name. You cannot delete this user.

Removing a user from legal hold

To remove a user from legal hold

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users
  2. Click the user to place on legal hold, click More > Remove From Legal Hold.
  • Was this article helpful?