Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

Manage Teams

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/cross.png Business

 

Overview

Configure inSync to automatically discover any new Teams. Alternatively, you can manually define Teams discovery and configuration settings.

You can perform the following tasks to manually manage Teams using Druva inSync.

Edit Teams settings in Druva inSync

Perform the following steps to modify and update the existing Team settings.

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Microsoft 365. An overview page that provides a holistic view of all the configured Microsoft 365 app appears.
  2. On the left-hand panel, click Teams.
  3. Click a configured Team that you want to edit.
  4. On the Summary tab under Teams, click Edit. The Edit Team window appears.
  5. Edit the required details and click Save

Discover Teams manually

If the Auto discover teams for backup checkbox under the Auto Configuration Settings is enabled, inSync automatically discovers new Teams every 24 hours. If you want inSync to discover any Teams before the next auto-discovery process runs,  perform the following steps.

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Microsoft 365. An overview page that provides a holistic view of all the configured Microsoft 365 app appears.
  2. On the left-hand panel, click Teams.
  3. Click  Discover Teams. inSync discovers the teams added within your organization after the last auto-discovery process.

 If the Auto-assign storage option is enabled, inSync assigns the selected storage and the default backup and retention policies to the Teams. The discovered Teams appear on the Teams list page with Team Status as Enabled. If the Auto-assign storage option is disabled, the Team Status is Not Configured

  1. (OPTIONAL) Click the Team you want to configure. The Configure Team Backup page appears.
  2. (OPTIONAL) On the Configure Team Backup page, enter the required details and click Save. When the team is successfully configured the Team Status changes to Enabled. For more information, see Manual configuration of Teams for backup.

Enable backup for Teams

By default, when you configure Teams for backup, it is automatically enabled for backup.

If you disable backup for Teams, inSync retains previously backed up data.

Procedure

To enable backup for previously disabled Teams:

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Microsoft 365. An overview page that provides a holistic view of all the configured Microsoft 365 app appears.
  2. On the left-hand panel, click TeamsA page that lists all the discovered Teams appears.
  3. Click the disabled Team name that you want to enable. 
  4. In the right pane, on the Summary tab,  click the  Ellipsis_icon.png  icon beside Backup Now and click Enable
  5. Click Enable on the confirmation dialog box that appears to enable the site.

inSync now starts backing up the data in accordance with the set backup schedule.

When you enable Teams for backup, the status of Teams Metadata, Teams Conversation, and Teams SharePoint Online (SPO) site is updated automatically within inSync.

Disable backup for Teams

As an inSync administrator, you can disable backup of Teams that are configured for backup.

When you disable backup of Teams, inSync stops backing up data for those Teams and retains the previously backed-up data.

If a backup is in progress, inSync completes the backup and then disables backup for those Teams.

Procedure

To disable backup for Teams,

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Microsoft 365. An overview page that provides a holistic view of all the configured Microsoft 365 app appears.
  2. On the left-hand panel, click TeamsA page that lists all the discovered Teams appears.
  3. Click the enabled Team name that you want to disable. 
  4. In the right pane, on the Summary tab,  click the  Ellipsis_icon.png  icon beside Backup Now and click Disable
  5. Click Disable on the confirmation dialog box that appears to disable the selected team.

inSync stops backing up data of the selected Teams. 

In the future, if you want to back up these Teams again, you can enable the backup using the Enable option.

When you disable Teams for backup, the status of Teams Metadata, Teams Conversation, and Teams SharePoint Online (SPO) site is updated automatically within inSync.

Delete Teams from inSync

As an inSync administrator, you can delete Teams configured for backup anytime from inSync.

  • When you delete Teams, inSync permanently deletes all the data backed up for those Teams.
  • You can delete Teams for which the backup is in progress.

 

Procedure

To delete Teams from inSync,

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Microsoft 365. An overview page that provides a holistic view of all the configured Microsoft 365 app appears.
  2. On the left-hand panel, click TeamsA page that lists all the discovered Teams appears.
  3. Select the Team name that you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete. A confirmation dialog box appears.
  5. Click Continue on the confirmation dialog box to delete the site.

inSync deletes the selected Team and permanently deletes all the data backed up for the Teams.

 

 

  • When you delete Teams, inSync permanently deletes all the data backed up for those Teams.
  • You can delete Teams for which the backup is in progress.
  • When you delete Teams, the Teams Metadata, Teams Conversation, and Teams SharePoint Online (SPO) site also automatically gets deleted from inSync.
  • Was this article helpful?