Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

Configure audit trail retention policy

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.pngElite Plus         File:/tick.png Elite      File:/cross.pngEnterprise     File:/cross.png Business

Overview

With Druva inSync audit trail, you can track the operations of Druva inSync users and administrators. Druva inSync retains audit trail records based on the audit trail retention policy. By default, the audit retention period for a user and an administrator is 30 days.

Druva inSync displays the user activities list of based on the duration that you select in the Time Period list. The options available in the Time Period list is dependent on how the audit retention period is configured. By default, the audit retention period is 30 days. The options available in the Time Period list are the following:

  • Last 30 days
  • Last 3 months
  • Last 6 months
  • Last 1 year
  • Ever

If you change the default retention period to 6 months, the changes will immediately reflect in the time period list of the administrator. You will now see 6 months added to the list in addition to the already available options.

If you want to retain audit trails forever, select Ever from the drop-down list. 

Configure the audit trail retention policy for administrator activities

To configure the admin audit trail:

  1. On the {{insyncmenubar}}, click 2.png > Settings.
  2. Click the Governance tab, and then click Edit. The Edit Settings window appears.
  3. In the Retain admin audit trail for list, click the duration for which you want to retain the audit trail. The default retention period is 30 days.
  4. Click Save.

For more information on administrator audit trail, see View audit trail for administrators.

Configure the audit trail retention policy for user activities

To configure the user audit trail

  1. On the {{insyncmenubar}}, click 2.png > Settings.
  2. Click the Governance tab, and then click Edit. The Edit Settings window appears.
  3. In the Retain user audit trail for list, click the duration for which you want to retain the audit trail. The default retention period is 30 days.
  4. Click Save.

Note: User audit trail for File & Folder (Additional) activities will be retained for 3 months only.

For more information on user audit trail, see View audit trail for users