Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Enable auto-delete for computers

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/cross.png Business

Enable auto delete for laptop and desktops

You can enable auto delete of data from a laptop and desktop that has not connected to inSync Master for a specified number of days. This feature is controlled through profiles and not at an individual user level.

When you enable the auto-delete feature, you can configure:

  • The number of days after which alert will be sent to administrators if a laptop and desktop do not connect to inSync Master. 
  • The number of days after which laptop and desktop data will be deleted if the laptop and desktop do not connect to inSync Master. 

To enable auto-delete functionality

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Profiles.
  2. Click the profile for which you want to enable auto delete for laptops and desktops.
  3. Click the Devices tab > Data Loss Prevention, click Edit. The Edit Device Backup Configuration window appears.
  4. In the DLP for DLP for Laptops & Desktops area select the  Auto delete check box. Additional fields appear.
  5. Provide the appropriate information for each field.
    • In the Alert if device does not connect for box, type the number of days which when the user's laptop and desktop do not connect with the inSync Master, inSync sends an alert to the inSync administrators.
    • In the Delete folders/data if device does not connect for box, type the number of days which when the user's laptop and desktop does not connect with the inSync Master, inSync will automatically delete data from the backup folders on the laptop and desktop.
  6. Click Save.

Place auto-delete for a device on hold

To place auto-delete for a device on hold

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Governance > Data Loss Prevention.
  2. Under the All Devices tab, select the device for which you want to place auto-delete functionality on hold.
  3. Click Mark On Hold.

Remove auto-delete for a device on hold

To remove auto-delete for a device on hold

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Governance > Data Loss Prevention.
  2. Under the All Devices tab, select the device for which you want to remove auto-delete functionality on hold.
  3. Click Mark Normal.