Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Remotely delete data from a device

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/cross.png Business

Overview

As a cloud administrator, you can remotely delete data from a device by using one of the following ways:

  • Decommission a device: This method securely wipes out data from the inSync Share and backup folders of a user device. You can decommission a device only when inSync Master can communicate with it.
  • Enable auto-delete: This method deletes data automatically from the user device if the device does not connect to inSync Master for a period that you specify. This functionality is applicable only for user laptops and desktops and not for mobile devices.

inSync Master deletes data which is backed up or shared using inSync. You can delete the inSync data on mobile devices, and all the folders that are selected for backup on laptops and desktops.

After you decommission a device either manually or automatically, inSync Master deletes the backup data and inSync Share data from the device. For example, inSync deletes Share data such as directories, files, folders, and subfolders from the user device. However, inSync does not delete the data that is on the inSync Server. 

Enable remote device deactivation for mobile devices

Before you begin

Before you begin, ensure that you upload an SSL and an APN certificate on the inSync Master for iOS devices.

Procedure

To enable remote device deactivation for mobile devices

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Profiles.
  2. Click the link of the profile for which you want to enable remote device deactivation for mobile devices.
  3. Click the Devices tab > Data Loss Prevention, click Edit. The Edit Device Backup Configuration window appears.
  4. In the DLP for Smartphones & Tablets area select an option from the Remote device deactivation list.
  5. If you want to mandate remote device deactivation for the user devices, in the Remote device deactivation list, click Mandatory. If you want users to decide whether they want to enable remote device deactivation, in the Remote device deactivation list, click Optional.
    If you want to disable remote device deactivation, in the Remote device deactivation list, click Disable.
  6. Click Save.

Decommission a laptop and desktop

To decommission a laptop and desktop

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Governance > Data Loss Prevention.
  2. Under the All Devices tab, click the device that you want to decommission.
  3. Click Decommission Device.

Decommission a mobile device

To decommission a mobile device

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Governance > Data Loss Prevention.
  2. Under the All Devices tab, click the device that you want to decommission, and then click Decommission Device.
  3. If you want to delete recent documents and favorites from the inSync mobile App, click Delete only inSync data on device.

    Note: In this case, a push notification is sent to users' mobile devices. This is regardless of whether Remote device deactivation is set to Optional or Mandatory.

    If you want to securely erase data from the backup folders and uninstall the inSync mobile App, click Deactivate entire device.

    Note: In this case, a notification is sent via MDM to the users' devices and so users do not receive a prompt on their mobile devices.

The time required by inSync Master to decommission a laptop and desktop depends on the size of data in the backup and share folders.