Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Disable, enable, or delete a user device

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Business

Difference between disable and delete

The following table lists the difference between disable and delete.

Disable

Disabling a device stops data backup from that device. inSync Master retains data that was previously backed up.

Delete

Deleting a device removes the device from the device list. inSync stops data backup from the deleted device. inSync also deletes all backup data of that device from the storage. If a device is deleted, the data on the device cannot be restored.

Disable devices

To disable devices

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Devices.
  2. Select the devices that you want to disable.
  3. Click Disable.

Enable devices

Enabling a device resumes data backup from the device to inSync Master.

To enable devices

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Devices.
  2. Select the devices that you want to enable.
  3. Click Enable.
Note: When you enable a device, the inSync client can take up to 30 minutes to perform the manual backup, scheduled backup, restore, auto-upgrade, decommission, and sync operations.

Delete devices

This action deletes devices from the device list of inSync Management Console. As a result, irrespective of the inSync Client versions installed:

  • inSync stops data backup from the deleted devices immediately after the device is deleted.
  • inSync immediately deletes all the backup data of the the deleted device. Thus, you cannot restore data to the deleted device.

However, the behavior of inSync Client 5.8 and earlier is different from that of inSync Client 5.9 when a devices running the respective clients are deleted from inSync Management Console.

The following table lists the difference in behavior between inSync client version 5.8 and earlier against those running 5.9 and later, when a device is deleted. 

inSync Client versions

Client behavior

5.8 and earlier

When you delete devices running inSync Client 5.8 and earlier from inSync Management Console, inSync users will observe inSync Client in disabled state permanently. 

Note: If you want to clean the configuration files of the deleted devices, run a cleanup script on the deleted devices with the mass deployment tool used in your environment. 

5.9 and later

When you delete devices running inSync Client 5.9 from inSync Management Console, inSync users will observe inSync Client in disabled state for the next 30 days. After 30 days, users will be automatically logged out of inSync Client.

Note: The configuration files on the deleted devices are also automatically deleted after 30 days.

To delete devices:

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Data Sources > Devices.
  2. Select the devices that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.