Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Change storage assigned to a user

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Business

Overview

When you create a user, you map the user to a storage. Data from user devices is backed up to this storage. You can choose to change the storage of a user at any time. After you change a user's storage:

  • User data is backed up to the new storage.
  • Snapshots on the old storage are retained and compacted following the retention policy.
  • inSync users can restore data from any snapshot, even those available on the old storage.

Restrictions on changing storage

The following restrictions apply when you are changing storage of a user:

  • The user must not have inSync Share activated.
  • The user must not be placed on legal hold.
  • The destination storage must be mapped to the user's profile. It should not be in the same region as the present storage.
  • The user must have inSync Client 5.2 or later installed on all computers. For mobiles devices, inSync app 3.3 or later is required.
  • The user must not be mapped to the inSync CloudCache Server. If the user is mapped to the CloudCache Server, you must first remove the user from the CloudCache Server before you change the storage for that user. For information on how to remove a user from the CloudCache Server, see Remove users.
  • You cannot move a user back to a storage that he was once mapped to.

Change the storage assigned to a user

To change the storage assigned to a user

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Users.
  2. Select the users whose storage you want to change.
  3. Click More > Change Storage. The Change Storage window appears.
  4. In the Select storage list, select the destination storage for the users.
  5. Click Save.
Note: After you change the storage assigned to a user, the first backup is a full backup. Thereafter, all backups are incremental in nature.