Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Update the profile assigned to users

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Business

Introduction

All inSync users are associated to a profile. Based on your organization's requirement, you can move users from one profile to another. However, moving users to another profile depends on the user privacy settings set at the profile level and the user level.

Consider the following scenarios:

  • Users associated to a profile where the user privacy settings are set as follows:
    • Allow admin access to user data - YES
    • Allow users to edit privacy settings- YES
    • Data Privacy (on inSync Client) - NO (User has disabled administrator to access and download the data).
  • Users associated to a profile where the user privacy settings are set as follows:
    • Allow admin access to user data - NO
    • Allow users to edit privacy settings- YES
    • Data Privacy (on inSync Client) - NO (User has disabled administrator to access and download the data).

In both the scenarios described above, the users have explicitly barred administrators to access or download their data. If such users are moved to a profile, where the administrators can have access to their data, the user's privacy setting is dishonored. Thus, inSync does not automatically allow moving of privacy concerned users to a profile, where the administrator can have access to their data.

If you have to mandatorily move the privacy concerned users to a profile where the administrators can have access to their data, you must contact such inSync users and request them to allow administrators to access their backup data. For more information on how the inSync users can allow administrators to access their backup data on inSync Client, see Control privacy of your backup data.

Procedure

To update the profile assigned to a user

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Users.
  2. Select the users whose profile you want to update.
  3. Click More > Change Profile. The Change Profile window appears.

    Change Profile for the User.png

  4. In the Select Profile list, click the profile that you want to assign to the users that you selected.
    Note: If you are moving users to a profile where the user's privacy setting conflicts with the privacy setting in the target profile, that is, the administrators can get an unintentional access to the user's data, inSync does not allow you to update the profile for such users. In this case, you must contact the inSync users to request them to allow administrators to access their backup data and try again.
  5. Click Save.