Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

inSync Client changes for macOS Mojave (version 10.14)

This topic describes the changes for inSync Client v6.1.1 that are introduced to support the new user data protection feature introduced in macOS Mojave (version 10.14) and the related actions for inSync administrators and inSync Client users.

Druva recommends that you upgrade the inSync Client to v6.1.1 before upgrading user devices to macOS Mojave. 

Locations that display a prompt

The operating system will display an authorization prompt when inSync Client tries to access the following locations if configured for backup:

  • Location services
  • Contacts
  • Calendars
  • Reminders
  • Photos

What action should inSync Client users take?

inSync Client users must click OK to allow inSync to access the locations and back up the data. inSync displays a prompt for each location that it tries to access. 

If inSync Client users do not take any action on the prompts, inSync will pause the ongoing backup and it will remain in that state until the user takes an action.

What will happen if inSync Client users click Don't Allow on the permission prompt?

inSync Client will skip the location during data backup and continue backing up other data.

As an inSync administrator, what action should I take to prohibit the display of permission prompts to inSync Client users?

If you want inSync to back up the locations but do not want to display the permission prompts to users, you must authorize inSync to access the locations using the MDM (Mobile Device Management) tool that your organization is using. 

If you want inSync to back up the locations but do not want to display the permission prompts to users, you can pre-configure the authorization to inSync via MDM (Mobile Device Management) enrollment. Druva also recommends educating inSync Client users of your organization to pre-approve inSync by adding it to Full Disk Access in System Preferences > Security and Privacy pane for a seamless backup experience.

This will ensure that inSync will not display any prompt to the inSync Client users and continue to back up the data. 

OR

If you do not want inSync to backup the mentioned locations, you must configure these locations in the Global Exclude list, defined at Profile level. inSync skips the locations mentioned in the Global Exclude list while backing up user data. For more information, see Configure the global exclude list.

Locations that do not display a prompt

inSync Client will skip the following configured locations by default while performing the backup if it does not have the required access permissions:

  • Mail
  • Messages
  • Safari Browsing History
  • HTTP Cookies
  • Call History
  • iTunes Backups
  • Time Machine Backups

What action should inSync Client users take?

inSync Client users must allow inSync to access the locations by completing the following steps:

  1. Go to System Preferences > Security and Privacy pane.
  2. Click the Privacy tab.
  3. Click Full Disk Access on the left pane.
  4. Click the + button.
  5. Click Application on the left pane.
  6. Select Druva inSync from the list of applications.
  7. Click inSync.
  8. Click Open.
  9. A prompt is displayed to apply the modified settings. Perform the following steps:
    1. Select Quit Now.
    2. Go to Launchpad and start the inSync Client.

This will allow inSync to access these locations that are configured for backup.

If inSync Client users do not provide inSync access to these locations, inSync will skip these locations and continue backing up other data.

 

As an inSync administrator, what action should I take to provide inSync access to these locations?

If you want inSync to back up the locations, you must authorize inSync to access the locations using the MDM (Mobile Device Management) tool that your organization is using.  This will ensure that inSync will seamlessly continue to back up the data. 

 OR

If you do not want inSync to backup the mentioned locations, you must configure these locations in the Global Exclude list, defined at Profile level. inSync skips the locations mentioned in the Global Exclude list while backing up user data. For more information, see Configure the global exclude list.

  • Was this article helpful?